Joey's Alumni


Back to list of years

  Click here to view a Sunday Independent Article written by Dermot Gilleece in 2016.


1959 December Joeys Annual Dinner
The venue was Malahide Grand Hotel . Middle back is Harry Boland (president Joeys Alumni 1983-84, 1987-89 & 2005-08) and Gerry Fennell (President Joeys Alumni 1957) is in 2nd row, 1st from right on stairs.


21st May 1959


1959 Joeys Feis Maitiu Participants
Some names L to R:
From row sitting: John Doran, Frank “Skippy” Sullivan, –Declan O Reilly, Niall Hogan, Bodkin?
Second row: Brendan Daly, Mick Mc Grath, Maurice O Connell, …Mc Dermot, — Gorman?, ……, Brendan” Plumb” Duffy, Brian Dolan, … Mooney?, Doc O Connor.
Standing high: Dan Coen, Eamonn Cahill, …………………………….Mick Hannick, Jimmy Petherbridge.
Names of other in the photo are: Daragh Brennan, Tom Petherbridge, …. Wright, Franco Viali,, Tom Mangan, Brendan Mc Grath [middle back] , … Finn, Terry Roche, … Gray.
Photo provided by Mick McGrath.

April 1959 Team
1st Row: Brendan McGrath, ? Kelly, Charlie Doran, Mick Denver,
Mick Hannick, Paddy Cummins, Quinn, ?, ?, ?
2nd Row: Maurice O’Connell, Kevin Flynn, Charlie Doran, Ken Kendellan, Brendan [“Plumb”] Duffy, Ernie
Frazer, Richie Hession, Liam Doran, Michael McGrath.
Photograph provided by Matt O’Donohoe.


Leaving Cert Class of 1959
Leaving Cert Class of 1959


Football Team
1st Team from a C.B.S. to win The Hogan Cup


Football Team


Hogan Cup Article
Hogan Cup Article
1959 Article – Original Scan



All material copyright St. Joseph’s C.B.S unless otherwise stated.