Home / News / Sports / Junior Teams GAA-lloping Ahead

Junior Teams GAA-lloping Ahead

The school’s Senior GAA teams often compete under the radar but this year the Gaelic footballers have been impressing. At the time of print the footballers are one game away from qualifying from the group and reaching the knockout stages of the county competition.

The first game of the season was played at home in Fairview Park. On a cold autumn day, the game was in the balance until our lads scored a goal that opened the floodgates. The team really pushed on and some fine scores from Daryl Conroy, Conor Savage and Dane Daly showed the potential to open the game up. In the second half, the forwards continued to excel and some fine defending led by Matas Galinas at full back made sure of a impressive win.

The next game involved an away trip to Glasnevin to take on a fine Vincent’s team. An entertaining first half ended with just a point between the teams. In the second half, the Joey’s mettle was tested and, despite the game getting away from them in the final few minutes, it is fair to say that the team acquired some ‘battle-hardiness’ that will be useful in the next match. Outstanding on the day was Ryan Murphy who racked up 3-3 from play. It all comes down to the final match of the group, so best of luck to the team.

Our Senior hurlers had a more difficult outing in a straight knockout match. In the new format for the competition, the group stages have been abandoned in favour of this structure. Unfortunately, this left little time for our team to prepare, and the lads lost to competition favourites Lucan CBS. Two serious injuries on the day didn’t help the cause with Lee Carabini suffering a broken collarbone and Ciaran Nolan limping off due to a twisted ankle.

With the first years showing that the school can compete at the highest level and the senior footballers putting it up to some of the strongest around, the school teams are proving that tradition is still worth something and, hopefully, we can see some GAA silverware coming through our doors very soon.

The Junior footballers were faced with a difficult group, starting with two away games to Gaelcholaiste Reachrann and St. Vincent’s CBS. Unfortunately the team suffered losses to these two strong opponents and their fate was sealed long before the final home game against Coolmines Community School.

A positive point to take from the campaign was the fact that a few players had strong displays. In particular Jonathan Egan, Mikey Reynolds, Matas Galinas and Sean Henderick stood out.

The first years competed in the Dublin colleges’ football blitz during the term also. The team really showed exceptional quality and are a group to watch in the next few years. Winning three out of four of their group games, they secured second place and a spot in the final.. They were unlucky in not taking ultimate honours, and lost the blitz final to St. Paul’s of Raheny.

The management were eager to praise the team and highlighted the performances of Cian O’Brien, Patrick Ryan and Shaun English. Well done to the team and we look forward to seeing more from you in the near future.


Dane Daly, Craig English, Jonathan Boyle, Ian Maher, Caelan O’Meara, Jonathan Egan, Lee Carabini, Thomas Murphy, Karl Kelly, Daniel O’Halloran, Dillon Ryan, Dmytro Protsenko, Conor Savage, Daryl Conroy, Ciaran Nolan, Conor Nolan, Matas Galinas, Patrick Gahan.


Dillon Ryan, Stephen Kelly, Matas Galinas, Karl Kelly, Caelan O’Meara, Ian Maher, Dane Daly, Jonathan Egan, Craig English, Daryl Conroy, Conor Nolan, Jaime Grey, Ryan Murphy, Thomas Murphy, Aaron Byrne, Patrick Gahan, Ross Mason, Ciaran Nolan.


Matas Galinas, Niall Sheehy, Jaime Grey, Jonathan Egan, Mikey Reynolds, Kean Doran, Dean Conroy, Aaron Daly, Paul Carr, Ryan McGrath, Darragh Reynolds, Darragh Lyons, Cian Doyle, Leon Griffin, Sean Hendrick, Pierce Gavin, Stephen Kelly, Ciaran Kelly,Ryan White, Jamie Higgins.

This article is from our newsletter and was written and made by Transition Year students as part of their Media Studies module with Mr. Stack. The writers and contributors are as follows.

News Department

  • Joshua Nicoll
  • Liam McCormick
  • Patrick Gahan
  • Leon Bannerman
  • Manolito Aviles
  • Daniel Caul
  • Marc Joyce
  • Daniel Gibbons

Sports Department

  • Jonathan Boyle
  • Carl Greene
  • Ian Corcoran
  • Matas Galinas
  • David Holguin
  • Jorge Lopez

Features Department

  • Alex Fay
  • Luke Bewley
  • Nathan Byrne
  • Kyle Harris
  • Adam Almahfouz
  • Treb Madarieta